Magic Chest book subscription box review

I have reviewed a couple of bookish subscription boxes before in the past and I bloody love them – definitely more so than beauty subscription boxes. That’s obviously the bookworm in me talking but there’s nothing quite like getting a package and knowing there’s so much bookish goodness inside waiting to be opened! When I was contacted by Magic Chest*, a Fantasy based book subscription company, I was on it like a car bonnet. As it usually works with these types of boxes, each month is a different “theme”. I was given the option of the May box or any of their previous boxes so I went with one of their older “Fairy Tales” themed boxes. You all know I love fairy tales; Disney, magic, re-tellings. Give me it all. So I was super excited to receive this box and see what was inside. 

And I tell you… I was not disappointed in the slightest. In fact, it’s probably the best bookish themed sub box I’ve come across personally. Apart from 1 item, everything else was very familiar. And you can imagine my surprise when I pulled out 3 different Disney items, as well! It also came with a lovely letter, addressd to me, explaining what each of the products where and where they were from. So… without further ado. Here’s the Magic Chest Fairy Tales box!

Let’s start with the Disney items first. There was this super cute Alice in Wonderland pin and magical Cinderella coasters which are both made by the Magic Chest team. I loved both of these; I’m not sure where I’m going to put the pin yet but I certainly know that the coasters will come in handy for all the tea I drink whilst I’m reading! The last Disney item was the Pumba Hakuna Matata bookmark which was made by Idlestuff. And bookmarks always come in handy!

The ‘My Neighbor Totoro’ pouch was the only item which I wasn’t familiar with (the story, I mean. Not the pouch. I know what that is). I recognize the character but that’s about it so I may be inclined to track this down and give it a watch! I’m really excited to try the ‘Thorns & All’ whipped body butter, made by Grace & Honey and inspired by A Court of Thorns and Roses. I can confirm that it smells delicious so I’ll certainly be making use of that when I next have a little pamper.

I’m sure you’ll all recognize this but the next item was this stunning print from the Magic Chest designer Catarina. The Tale of the Three Brothers is one of my favourite parts in The Deathly Hallows movies – I think Emma Watson recites it beautifully and this is a gorgeous print which I’m definitely going to try and find a place for on my wall or my bookcase.

And finally… the book. I was so thrilled with the book that came in this box. It’s a gorgeous hard-back so you’re clearly getting well worth your money with this box. I’ve seen this book around the blogosphere a fair few times and I’ve always been in complete awe of it’s stunning cover. I mean, that has to be one of the nicest covers I have ever seen, right? It sounds like an amazing book (you can read about it on Goodreads here) and I can’t wait to get stuck into it.

The June box is now available and is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Harry Potter and Six of Crows!

So there we have it, a little round up of the Magic Chest Fairy Tales box. I have no doubt that all of the Magic Chest boxes will be just as, well, magical as this one. You can find their website here or you can find them on Twitter here! What did you think of this box? Have you received any bookish subscription boxes before? Have you read The Toy Makers?

* This was sent to me in exchange for a review / blog post

Advertisements

31 thoughts on “Magic Chest book subscription box review

  1. OMG this looks fantastic! I would love the book and Flora would love everything else – she could get to the book when she’s a little older. Wow, I haven’t seen anything like this before, I’m definitely going to check them out, thank you so much for a fab review (and I’m totally jealous of what you got, haha!) xx

    Lisa | http://www.lisasnotebook.com

  2. This looks like the most beautiful box to receive. I absolutely love the print, it’s so subtle and beautifully made. That book looks gorgeous too – I know you’re not meant to judge a book by its cover but I can’t help it haha! I also love getting subscription boxes but I’ve never got anything except beauty. Receiving a book in the post sounds even more exciting! Your photos are also gorgeous.
    Beth x Adventure & Anxiety

Leave a Comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.