10 books on my bookcase I really want to read this year

If you’re a book blogger or just an avid reader, you’ll know the struggle. The struggle of buying too many books when you already have far too many sitting on your shelf. The struggle of a publisher asking you if you’d like to review x, y or z and knowing you don’t really have time but you can’t quite resist. The struggle of not being able to leave the library empty handed because it feels like you’re committing a crime. I know, I feel you. I am that person. There are so many books sitting on my bookcase and have been sitting there for months – some even years – which although I always say I’m going to read, I never do. So here are 10 books on my bookcase which I really want to finally get around to reading this year!

Continue reading

Advertisements

BOOK REVIEW: Six Foot Six by Kit De Waal (& giveaway!)

Format: Paperback, ARC
Links: Goodreads | Amazon UK
Blurb: It’s an exciting day for Timothy Flowers. It’s the third of November, and it’s Friday, and it’s his twenty-first birthday. When Timothy walks to his usual street corner to see his favourite special bus, he meets Charlie. Charlie is a builder who is desperate for Timothy’s help because Timothy is very tall, six feet six inches. Timothy has never had a job before – or no work that he’s kept for more than a day. But when Timothy and Charlie have to collect money from a local thug, things don’t exactly go according to plan…

Over the course of one day, Timothy’s life will change for ever. Continue reading

What I read in January

At the beginning of January, I set myself a goal to read 4 books this month. I know, not a lot compared to all y’all hard-core readers out there but I vowed I wouldn’t set myself any unrealistic and unreachable goals this year. So far, I haven’t. I completed my 4 books goal – actually exceeded it! I have reviewed all of them in full but I wanted to do a little round-up today so I can keep track and look back and be like yassssss, slayed it. You know what I mean. I’m also thrilled to look at this post and see lots of different types of books and genres. I’ve certainly not just stuck to my favourite genres this month and by doing so, have found some really wonderful books. So anyway, on with the post!

Continue reading

Keep calm and read a book! (ft. bakerdays)

You know I love books by now… Everyone knows I love books. They are my calling. My soul-mate. My one true love. I honestly do not know what I would do without books and the incredible stories and lessons then hold within them. I’ve loved books ever since I was little and it was my mum which firmly got me into reading, after she used to read to me of a nighttime, tucked up in her bed when my dad used to work nights. We got through Harry Potter and Narnia and since then, I started reading Jacqueline Wilson books religiously. I’ve never lost my love for books and reading although it has dwindled in places down the line. Like when I was 18 and would much rather be drunk multiple nights a week rather than getting lost in my favorite books!

Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW: Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

Format: Hardback – purchased
Links: Amazon UK | Goodreads
Blurb: Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis.

Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.

In his long-awaited return, John Green, the acclaimed, award-winning author of Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars, shares Aza’s story with shattering, unflinching clarity in this brilliant novel of love, resilience, and the power of lifelong friendship.


Continue reading

7 books to curl up with on a rainy day

I was taking part in a comment thread on Twitter the other day when I came across Bronia Jane’s blog. Now, ya’all criticise comment swaps (well, some people do – you specifically might not) as “fake interaction” but I may have never come across her blog had I not joined in and it’s quickly become one of my favourites. Not only is it super pretty but she posts fabulous content – right up my street as the type of blog I love reading with a bit of everything thrown in. I promise this isn’t a whole post of me gushing over (isn’t gushing an awful word?) her blog, I’m getting to my point, I just felt the need to grovel a little bit because I’m essentially pinching one of her post ideas. Although she said she didn’t mind so it’s all gravy, baby.

Continue reading

COVER REVEAL: A Prosecco Christmas by Sylvia Ashby

Hi everyone! I haven’t done a cover reveal on here for absolutely ages but I’m brining you a Christmassy, baking themed one today which I hope you’ll love! You can find the cover and all information about the book below.

Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW: The Forgotten Room by Ann Troup @TroupAnn @HQDigitalUK #bookbloggers

Links: Goodreads  | Amazon UK
Publication date:
25th October 2017
Blurb:
Can the past ever be forgotten?

As soon as nurse Maura Lyle sets foot inside the foreboding Essen Grange, she feels shivers ripple down her spine. And the sense of unease only increases when she meets her new patient, Gordon Henderson.

Drawn into the Henderson family’s tangled web of secrets and betrayals, Maura can ignore the danger lurking behind every door no longer. Even the door she has been forbidden from opening…

Essen Grange is a house with dark and cruel intentions. But now that darkness has turned on her, can Maura escape before it’s too late?

The chilling new novel from the bestselling author of The Lost Child and The Silent Girls. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Claire Mackintosh and Tracy Buchanan.   Continue reading

Bookish this or that tag

When I’m lacking a few blog posts ideas, I find you can’t go wrong with a nice, simple tag post! And if it’s a bookish themed tag post, even better. Luckily… I found just that on Golden Books Girl and you can find her post here. Ready? Let’s answer some booky questions. If you want to do the tag yourself please feel free and link me to them as I’d love to read your answers!

Continue reading

GUEST POST: Lynsey James’s Ultimate Bucket List (& Giveaway!)

Last month I reviewed Lynsey James’s new book, The Season of Hopes and Dreams (which you can find my review of here) and today I’m thrilled to also be taking part in her blog tour. This book was really fun and light-hearted and also covered some really important topics and situations. One of those was a bucket list, that the main character, Cleo, had made after she lost her way in an accident and her dream of being a dancer was shattered. I’m hosting a guest post from Lynsey today where she’s sharing her very own bucket list! You can also find information about the book and a giveaway to win a copy at the bottom!

Continue reading