7 books to curl up with on a rainy day

I was taking part in a comment thread on Twitter the other day when I came across Bronia Jane’s blog. Now, ya’all criticise comment swaps (well, some people do – you specifically might not) as “fake interaction” but I may have never come across her blog had I not joined in and it’s quickly become one of my favourites. Not only is it super pretty but she posts fabulous content – right up my street as the type of blog I love reading with a bit of everything thrown in. I promise this isn’t a whole post of me gushing over (isn’t gushing an awful word?) her blog, I’m getting to my point, I just felt the need to grovel a little bit because I’m essentially pinching one of her post ideas. Although she said she didn’t mind so it’s all gravy, baby.

Continue reading

Advertisements

COVER REVEAL: A Prosecco Christmas by Sylvia Ashby

Hi everyone! I haven’t done a cover reveal on here for absolutely ages but I’m brining you a Christmassy, baking themed one today which I hope you’ll love! You can find the cover and all information about the book below.

Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW: The Forgotten Room by Ann Troup @TroupAnn @HQDigitalUK #bookbloggers

Links: Goodreads  | Amazon UK
Publication date:
25th October 2017
Blurb:
Can the past ever be forgotten?

As soon as nurse Maura Lyle sets foot inside the foreboding Essen Grange, she feels shivers ripple down her spine. And the sense of unease only increases when she meets her new patient, Gordon Henderson.

Drawn into the Henderson family’s tangled web of secrets and betrayals, Maura can ignore the danger lurking behind every door no longer. Even the door she has been forbidden from opening…

Essen Grange is a house with dark and cruel intentions. But now that darkness has turned on her, can Maura escape before it’s too late?

The chilling new novel from the bestselling author of The Lost Child and The Silent Girls. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Claire Mackintosh and Tracy Buchanan.   Continue reading

Bookish this or that tag

When I’m lacking a few blog posts ideas, I find you can’t go wrong with a nice, simple tag post! And if it’s a bookish themed tag post, even better. Luckily… I found just that on Golden Books Girl and you can find her post here. Ready? Let’s answer some booky questions. If you want to do the tag yourself please feel free and link me to them as I’d love to read your answers!

Continue reading

GUEST POST: Lynsey James’s Ultimate Bucket List (& Giveaway!)

Last month I reviewed Lynsey James’s new book, The Season of Hopes and Dreams (which you can find my review of here) and today I’m thrilled to also be taking part in her blog tour. This book was really fun and light-hearted and also covered some really important topics and situations. One of those was a bucket list, that the main character, Cleo, had made after she lost her way in an accident and her dream of being a dancer was shattered. I’m hosting a guest post from Lynsey today where she’s sharing her very own bucket list! You can also find information about the book and a giveaway to win a copy at the bottom!

Continue reading

My thoughts on star book ratings 

Ever since I started reviewing books in 2013, I’ve always used a 1-5 star rating of some description (although I did change my stars to cupcakes because I thought it was cuter but it follows the same system). Whether it be on my blog, Goodreads or Amazon I was always rating the books I had read between 1 and 5 stars. I thought everybody did that, I thought that was the “norm”. But since blogging more and more, I’ve seen various opinions from people who say the star rating isn’t for them, they don’t like it or they rate books in a different way. Some, not at all. 

Continue reading

Q&A with C.J Tudor – author of The Chalk Man

Earlier this month, I was exceptionally lucky to have had the chance to read The Chalk Man, a mystery thriller that everyone is keen to get their mitts on. It went firmly onto my list on the best books I’ve read this year, most definitely in the top 5 and I’ve been raving about it ever since. My mum read my copy too and it’s been one of our most talked about books for a very, very long time. We have many a discussion about the characters, what was going on and the shocking ending. And I think that marks an incredible book; the ability to have these long, lengthy discussions. Today, I’m buzzing to share with you an interview I did with the author, C.J Tudor, where we talk about all things The Chalk Man, writing advice and where the inspiration for this sinister tale came from. Enjoy! Continue reading

If I had a book club…

Unfortunately, I can’t take credit for this wonderful idea for a post. Beth from The Reader’s Corner was the mastermind who came up with the idea and kindly let me steal it but please check out Beth’s post here! I’ve never been a member of a book club; online or otherwise. I’d love to be at some point in my life but I’m too backed up with my own books to even think about it right now. I also think it’d be amazing to have your own book club, where you have complete control over the books. So, if I had a book club, here are a handful of books I would choose.

Continue reading

COVER REVEAL: 88 North by J.F Kirwan @kirwanjf @HQDigitalUK #bookbloggers 

Good morning Neverland clan, hope you’re all having a lovely week so far. I’m doing my best to include as many bookish posts on my blog this month because quite frankly, I miss posting about books as frequently as I used to. So today, I’m bringing you a cover reveal and Crime / Thriller fans, I think you’ll like the sound of this one! Ready?

Continue reading

The Blogger Recognition Award tag & supporting smaller bloggers!

The ever ever ever so lovely Laura Noakes tagged me in this Blogger Recognition Award tag which I really wanted to do. I also wanted to take this chance to help support smaller bloggers so please do check out all the bloggers I’ve tagged in this post. Anyway, here’s are the rules: 

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

2. Write a post to show your award.

3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.

4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.

5. Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.

6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them & provide the link to the post you created (I’ll probs just tag y’all on Twitter!) Continue reading