7 books you need to read if you love a good Thriller

For anyone that doesn’t know, my favourite genre to read is a Thriller and all the sub-genres of Thriller. Crime Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Supernatural Thriller – if it has Thriller in the title then I am all for it. It’s funny how your taste in books changes as you grow isn’t it? A good few years ago I absolutely loved Chick-Lit novels but that’s not a genre I tend to go for anymore just because my tastes have changed as I’ve grown. And that’s totally okay. So anyway, Thriller’s are my go-to genre now. I absolutely love the suspense, the build up, the secrets, the confusion and usually the epic twists at the end. Of course not all Thrillers tick all the boxes and I know not everyone likes or reads full-length book reviews, which is totally okay, so here’s a quick run down of 7 books you need to read if, like me, you love a good Thriller.

Her Name Was Rose by Claire Allan

Her Name Was Rose was a bloody good book. Bloody good. It was so damn gripping and the ultimate page-turner. One of those books that really leaves you wondering who to trust and without a doubt isn’t the person you expect!

You can find my review of Her Name Was Rose here.

Last Seen Alive by Claire Douglas

This is probably in my top 3 Thrillers I’ve ever read – Last Seen Alive was just soooo rich and complex and full of lies and secrets and my gosh. I can’t even say anything because I don’t wanna give anything away. Phenomenal.

You can find my review of Last Seen Alive here.

The Sisters by Claire Douglas

Can you see a bit of a trend here? I read The Sisters first (before Last Seen Alive) and I couldn’t put it down. I knew I had found a gem of an author so was eager for Claire’s next release. The Sisters had me thinking for days!

You can find my review of The Sisters here.

My Sister by Michelle Adams

See another trend? I absolutely love the ‘sisters’ trend in Thrillers at the moment, which is funny cos I usually get bored of trends but I’ve read so many amazing variations of this one. My Sister by Michelle Adams included!

You can find my review on My Sister here.

The Honeymoon by Tina Seskis

Probably one of the few Thrillers that genuinely confused and shocked me. I rarely gasp at anything; books, movies, whatever. But The Honeymoon literally made me gasp out loud and to me, that signifies a brilliant book!

You can find my review of The Honeymoon here.

The Chalk Man by C.J Tudor

Undoubtedly one of the most talked about Thrillers at the moment, The Chalk Man is well worth all the hype it’s getting. An outstanding debut which is very Stranger Things-esque and just generally an outstanding book.

You can find my review of The Chalk Man here.

Bird Box by Josh Malerman

At the time of writing, this is my most recently read Thriller and I finished this in about 2.5 days. A truly unusual story-line; scary (like literally, scary), claustrophobic and completely immersive. Also being made into a Netflix movie this December!

You can find my review of Bird Box here.

Have you read any of these? What did you think? Are you a fan of Thrillers and do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know!

Advertisements

Posted by

Twenty-something lifestyle blogger from Essex. Book lover, Slytherin, organisational wizard and enjoys Motorsport, Disney and Yoga.

76 thoughts on “7 books you need to read if you love a good Thriller

  1. I love thrillers and, like you, this is only something that came about fairly recently. I used to scoff at thrillers. Now I can’t get enough. I read and loved The Chalk Man and The Honeymoon. Both such good books. Will definitely check out the rest of the books on this list – as I’ve not yet read them, shockingly!

  2. Ok yes I have written down all of these books to buy one at a time to read on my next holiday. Thrillers are my favourite kind of book by a mile

  3. I’m so glad I stumbled onto your site! I love thrillers and am definitely going to check out some of your recommendations. My favorites at the moment are Disclaimer by Renee Knight, a book I recommend all the time, and Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

  4. Thrillers is my genre as well specifically a good psychological thrillers. I have noted down your list but did not check the review. I am currently reading The Infidelity Series by Aleatha Romig. 🙂

    Via | http:glossnglitters.com

  5. Ooooh! I’m adding all f else to my “to read” list. Heading off to Malaysia for a few weeks and a couple of these would be perfect for the plane ride!

  6. I really need to make more time for reading because all of these sound brilliant! I tend to read to relax, so i’m not sure how relaxing a thriller would be, but they’d be REALLY good holiday reads!

  7. I haven’t read many thrillers but I really love crime/police dramas which are always filled with suspense and drama so I might give some of these books a go! Plus I need to catch up on my reading!

    Ellyn xx | Life Of A Beauty Nerd

  8. Okay, i need to read these asap! I am a huge thriller fan and have just started to get back into regular reading so will be adding these to my list!

    Robyn

  9. to say I like thrillers I have never read any of these! So this is a great list for me! The Honeymoon sounds really good and amazing for a holiday read! I would like to read Bird Box but it does sound really creepy haha!! x

  10. Such a thriller and crime novel fan! Have added some of these to my amazon basket! thankyou 🙂 x

    abbiejadewanders.co.uk

  11. Looks like I’ll be adding Claire Douglas to my TBR pile then! I go around in a circle with thrillers: i love them, read too many/read ones that are too predictable and get put off, then something gets me back into them. I’m definitely in a thriller mood at the moment though, so thanks for the recommendations!

    1. I totally get that! Some themes of books can get so repetitive. Like all thriller books were about missing kids a little while ago and that craze bored me to death. But there’s some really interesting and unique thrillers about at the moment!

  12. I’m so excited to have some new books to look for before I take my next vacation. Thanks so much for the great suggestions!

  13. Thanks for the recommendations. I love thrillers and they are going straight to my TBR list. Have you read Karin Slaughter’s “The Good Daughter”? If not, do give it a try. It is quite a page-turner. 🙂

  14. Im terrible with reading! I always see books and reviews but I never get into reading books. I still have books I never have finished! I would love to try one of these one day! xx

  15. I read three and 2 others are on my readlist for the near future. I loved Last Seen Alive but I love everything she writes really and can’t wait to start my copy of Do Not Disturb :-). The Honeymoon was a bit of a letdown for me as it wasn’t complex enough for me, the plot was too thin. I have high high hopes for The Chalk Man and My Sister and I hope I’ll like them as much as you do. Great list here!

    1. The Honeymoon wasn’t complex?! I thought that had one of the most shocking twists I’ve seen in a Thriller. So can’t say I agree with you on that one! I’m looking forward to reading more from Claire Douglas, she’s great.

Leave a Comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.