Book Related Misc. Reviews

7 books you need to read if you love a good Thriller

For anyone that doesn’t know, my favourite genre to read is a Thriller and all the sub-genres of Thriller. Crime Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Supernatural Thriller – if it has Thriller in the title then I am all for it. It’s funny how your taste in books changes as you grow isn’t it? A good few years ago I absolutely loved Chick-Lit novels but that’s not a genre I tend to go for anymore just because my tastes have changed as I’ve grown. And that’s totally okay. So anyway, Thriller’s are my go-to genre now. I absolutely love the suspense, the build up, the secrets, the confusion and usually the epic twists at the end. Of course not all Thrillers tick all the boxes and I know not everyone likes or reads full-length book reviews, which is totally okay, so here’s a quick run down of 7ย books you need to read if, like me, you love a good Thriller.

Her Name Was Rose by Claire Allan

Her Name Was Rose was a bloody good book. Bloody good. It was so damn gripping and the ultimate page-turner. One of those books that really leaves you wondering who to trust and without a doubt isn’t the person you expect!

You can find my review of Her Name Was Rose here.

Last Seen Alive by Claire Douglas

This is probably in my top 3 Thrillers I’ve ever read – Last Seen Alive was just soooo rich and complex and full of lies and secrets and my gosh. I can’t even say anything because I don’t wanna give anything away. Phenomenal.

You can find my review of Last Seen Alive here.

The Sisters by Claire Douglas

Can you see a bit of a trend here? I read The Sisters first (before Last Seen Alive) and I couldn’t put it down. I knew I had found a gem of an author so was eager for Claire’s next release. The Sisters had me thinking for days!

You can find my review of The Sisters here.

My Sister by Michelle Adams

See another trend? I absolutely love the ‘sisters’ trend in Thrillers at the moment, which is funny cos I usually get bored of trends but I’ve read so many amazing variations of this one. My Sister by Michelle Adams included!

You can find my review on My Sister here.

The Honeymoon by Tina Seskis

Probably one of the few Thrillers that genuinely confused and shocked me. I rarely gasp at anything; books, movies, whatever. But The Honeymoon literally made me gasp out loud and to me, that signifies a brilliant book!

You can find my review of The Honeymoon here.

The Chalk Man by C.J Tudor

Undoubtedly one of the most talked about Thrillers at the moment, The Chalk Man is well worth all the hype it’s getting. An outstanding debut which is very Stranger Things-esque and just generally an outstanding book.

You can find my review of The Chalk Man here.

Bird Box by Josh Malerman

At the time of writing, this is my most recently read Thriller and I finished this in about 2.5 days. A truly unusual story-line; scary (like literally, scary), claustrophobic and completely immersive. Also being made into a Netflix movie this December!

You can find my review of Bird Box here.

Have you read any of these? What did you think? Are you a fan of Thrillers and do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know!

Advertisements

Jenny in Neverland

Twenty-something lifestyle blogger from Essex. Book lover, Slytherin, organisational wizard and enjoys Motorsport, Disney and Yoga.

76 Comments

  1. I’ve had to start a Word document of ‘to be read’ books because of your blog hahah. These all sound SO good though, you’ve got me very intrigued!
    Beth x

    1. Hahaha whoops! ๐Ÿ˜‰ xxx

  2. I love thrillers and, like you, this is only something that came about fairly recently. I used to scoff at thrillers. Now I can’t get enough. I read and loved The Chalk Man and The Honeymoon. Both such good books. Will definitely check out the rest of the books on this list – as I’ve not yet read them, shockingly!

    1. Hope you like the rest of them! Iโ€™m sure you will if you enjoyed The Chalk Man and The Honeymoon! xxx

  3. I love a good thriller, I hate thriller films but books are a winner! I love the sound of the honeymoon, I bet that’s such a gripping read.. I definitely need to add that one to my own to read list:)

    Kate | http://www.katelovesx.co.uk

    1. What! I love Thriller movies so much! But prefer books for sure ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

  4. Ok yes I have written down all of these books to buy one at a time to read on my next holiday. Thrillers are my favourite kind of book by a mile

    1. Woo! Hope you enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. kendallcurtisblog says:

    I’m so glad I stumbled onto your site! I love thrillers and am definitely going to check out some of your recommendations. My favorites at the moment are Disclaimer by Renee Knight, a book I recommend all the time, and Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

    1. Ah I didnโ€™t enjoy Disclaimer unfortunately! I never read Gone Girl but did love the movie ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  6. Thank you for these suggestions. I read The Chalk Man last year, and loved it. I will most definitely be checking these others out.

    1. Bloody brill ainโ€™t wasnโ€™t it?!

      1. It was! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Thanks for sharing these! I love a good thriller and I’m trying to write my own so need some more inspo! XX

    1. Ooh good luck!

  8. Greatness Reinvented says:

    oooo some of these look really good, Will be adding to the Kindle reading list for the upcoming holiday ion Aruba.

    GR | https://www.thegreat.uk

    1. Hope you enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Thrillers is my genre as well specifically a good psychological thrillers. I have noted down your list but did not check the review. I am currently reading The Infidelity Series by Aleatha Romig. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Via | http:glossnglitters.com

    1. No worries! None of my reviews contain spoilers anyway ๐Ÿ™‚ Xxx

  10. Liam McNally says:

    All these books sound super interesting. I do love a thriller. Have a bit of a back catalog of books to get through though before I can even consider any of these.

    1. I totally understand how out of control our TBRโ€™s can get!

  11. amelia says:

    Ooooh! Iโ€™m adding all f else to my โ€œto readโ€ list. Heading off to Malaysia for a few weeks and a couple of these would be perfect for the plane ride!

    1. Absolutely perfect time for a good read! ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

  12. jodiedcmitchell says:

    I really need to make more time for reading because all of these sound brilliant! I tend to read to relax, so i’m not sure how relaxing a thriller would be, but they’d be REALLY good holiday reads!

    1. Haha itโ€™s still relaxing to read, even if it is a Thriller ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.