25th birthday gift haul

Despite the fact I might not like my birthday very much and that 25 seems to be this big ol’ daunting year for me, I do love a birthday gift haul. I love reading them myself because I’m nosy and love to see why other people got for the birthdays and the kinda stuff they like. I also love writing them myself and taking photos of my presents as it gives me a chance to reflect and be grateful all over again for the gifts I received for my birthday. So here’s my 25th birthday gift haul! 

I’ll start with a selection of gifts which I actually asked for. Despite being 25 now, my mum still goes “all-out” on my birthday even though I tell her not to spend a lot of money on me. So this year I had in mind a few items which I really wanted that I knew she could get me which wouldn’t break the bank. (Also, sorry about the not-too-brilliant photos, I still haven’t got the hang of this picture taking lark).

Continue reading

Advertisements

GUEST POST: Finding Stories by Jon Richter (& Giveaway!)

Today I’m helping out with the Deadly Burial blog tour which I’m organising for author, Jon Richter. Check out the wonderful guest post by Jon himself and don’t forget to scroll all the way to the bottom for a giveaway!

Continue reading

Book Review: A Season of Hopes and Dreams by Lynsey James @Lynsey1991 @HQDigitalUK @SarahManning123

Format: Advanced proof copy
Publication date: Today!
Links: Amazon UK | Goodreads
Blurb: It’s been a difficult year for Cleo Jones. The car accident that crushed her leg didn’t just destroy the village baker’s dreams of becoming a dancer, but crushed her confidence too. And recovering from that has been harder than healing from any number of broken bones…

But this summer is going to be different. Life is turning around for Cleo! Maybe it’s the invitation from h It’s been a difficult year for Cleo Jones. The car accident that crushed her leg didn’t just destroy the village baker’s dreams of becoming a dancer, but crushed her confidence too. And recovering from that has been harder than healing from any number of broken bones…

But this summer is going to be different. Life is turning around for Cleo! Maybe it’s the invitation from her childhood bully to their high-school reunion that’s shocked her out of a ten-year slump. Or joining Carb Counters and finally starting to shed the weight she’d piled on during her recovery – or maybe it’s catching the eye of her gorgeous personal trainer!

Whatever the answer, this is going to be a summer she never forgets… watch out world, Cleo Jones is finally fighting back!

Continue reading

Quarter of a century waffle (& giveaway) 

Well… that’s a scary thing to say, isn’t it? Although I wrote a post about why I didn’t particularly like my birthday back in July, here I am on my birthday writing a blog post! Oh yeah… it’s my birthday today. I’m 25. Officially a quarter of an entire century old. And quite frankly… I’m freaking the F out.

  Continue reading

GUEST POST: Genre – What is it exactly? by S.C Skillman

Guest Post

As a writer, I believe we should be willing to explore new areas, and to step outside our comfort zone. And that applies very closely to us as readers too. I read a wide variety of books, both non-fiction, and fiction of all genres. I admit I do like psychological insight but I believe all good writers in every genre should incorporate that in their novels anyway. Continue reading

My thoughts on star book ratings 

Ever since I started reviewing books in 2013, I’ve always used a 1-5 star rating of some description (although I did change my stars to cupcakes because I thought it was cuter but it follows the same system). Whether it be on my blog, Goodreads or Amazon I was always rating the books I had read between 1 and 5 stars. I thought everybody did that, I thought that was the “norm”. But since blogging more and more, I’ve seen various opinions from people who say the star rating isn’t for them, they don’t like it or they rate books in a different way. Some, not at all. 

Continue reading

GUEST POST: 5 things I’ve learnt since being published by A.L Michael (& giveaway!) @ALMichael_ @ElliePilcher95

I’m thrilled to be taking part in the blog tour for A.L Michael’s new book “Cocktails and Dreams” today and I have a fantastic guest post for you where Andi talks about all the things she’s learnt since being published. I also have a giveaway for you at the bottom of the post to win a cocktail making kit and a copy of the book! Ready? Let’s go…

Publisher: Canelo
Links: Amazon | Kobo
Blurb: A heart-warming novel with characters you’ll love, don’t miss this first in a new series for romance, laugh-out-loud comedy and a feel-good ending. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

I was seven years old when I realized my mother was not a great person…

Since Savvy was abandoned by her rockstar mother, she has craved a normal life. But after years of financing her boyfriend’s lacklustre career, he leaves her when he hits the bigtime.

Savvy’s friends at the burlesque club where she serves elaborate cocktails encourage her to make bold changes in her life. She soon meets handsome bartender Milo, and begins to plan a future she can be excited about.

But when Savvy’s estranged mother crashes back into her life, her newfound happiness is under threat… will Savvy have the courage to pursue her dreams?  Continue reading

Book Review: Tin Man by Sarah Winman

Format: Hardback, giveaway prize
Links: Amazon UK | Goodreads
Blurb: This is almost a love story.

Ellis and Michael are twelve when they first become friends, and for a long time it is just the two of them, cycling the streets of Oxford, teaching themselves how to swim, discovering poetry, and dodging the fists of overbearing fathers. And then one day this closest of friendships grows into something more.

But then we fast forward a decade or so, to find that Ellis is married to Annie, and Michael is nowhere in sight. Which leads to the question, what happened in the years between?

This is almost a love story. But it’s not as simple as that. Continue reading

COVER REVEAL: 88 North by J.F Kirwan @kirwanjf @HQDigitalUK #bookbloggers 

Good morning Neverland clan, hope you’re all having a lovely week so far. I’m doing my best to include as many bookish posts on my blog this month because quite frankly, I miss posting about books as frequently as I used to. So today, I’m bringing you a cover reveal and Crime / Thriller fans, I think you’ll like the sound of this one! Ready?

Continue reading

GUEST POST: Should we give authors 1 star reviews? by M.L Sparrow

Today I have a really interesting a food for thought guest post all about whether reviewers should give authors 1 star reviews for their books. I can imagine this topic will cause some divide and a mix of opinions and that’s great – as long as we all respect each others’ individual opinion! Yu can also find information of M.L Sparrows book at the bottom of the post!

Continue reading