The inside out book tag

I’m back with another bookish tag on my blog today and we all know what a tag post means… I RAN OUT OF BLOG POST IDEAS. But I don’t mind because these posts are fun and I always enjoy talking about books as much as I can and I’m certainly enjoying writing more book-related content on my blog over the past month or so! I stole this tag from Kris at Boston Book Reader which is where I find all the book tags I do (I don’t know where she finds them but she is the Queen of finding good book tags!) so go and check out her post here! And if you want to do this one yourself, I’d love to hear your answers!

Continue reading “The inside out book tag”

Advertisements

BOOK REVIEW: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Format: Library book
Links: Goodreads | Amazon UK
Blurb: At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live.

When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a medical student asking what makes a virtuous and meaningful life into a neurosurgeon working in the core of human identity – the brain – and finally into a patient and a new father.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when when life is catastrophically interrupted? What does it mean to have a child as your own life fades away?

Paul Kalanithi died while working on this profoundly moving book, yet his words live on as a guide to us all. When Breath Becomes Air is a life-affirming reflection on facing our mortality and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a gifted writer who became both.


Continue reading “BOOK REVIEW: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi”

BOOK REVIEW: Bird Box by Josh Malerman

Format: Library book
Links:
Amazon UK | Goodreads
Blurb:
Something is out there, something terrifying that must not be seen. One glimpse of it, and a person is driven to deadly violence. No one knows what it is or where it came from.

Five years after it began, a handful of scattered survivors remains, including Malorie and her two young children. Living in an abandoned house near the river, she has dreamed of fleeing to a place where they might be safe. Now that the boy and girl are four, it’s time to go, but the journey ahead will be terrifying: twenty miles downriver in a rowboat–blindfolded–with nothing to rely on but her wits and the children’s trained ears. One wrong choice and they will die. Something is following them all the while, but is it man, animal, or monster?

Interweaving past and present, Bird Box is a snapshot of a world unraveled that will have you racing to the final page.


Review: I honestly couldn’t tell you the last time I read a good horror novel (before this one of course). Which is a shame because I love horror movies, I love being scared and letting my imagination run wild! I found out about Bird Box from a video by YouTuber Katie Snooks and I loved the sound of it so I picked up a copy from the library to give it a go and see whether she was talking any sense! She was. My God she was. This book consumed me for more or less an entire day; it demanded to be read from start to finish and I could not put it down.

Continue reading “BOOK REVIEW: Bird Box by Josh Malerman”

The book blogger insider tag

I haven’t done a bookish tag post in soooo long. I used to do a fair few of them in the early years of my blog, when I blogged predominantly about books but as of late, not many tags have come my way. So thank you to Kris from Boston Book Reader for tagging me in this one! It looks like fun and hopefully you’ll learn a bit more about my bookish loves, hates and habits!

Continue reading “The book blogger insider tag”

7 books to curl up with on a rainy day

I was taking part in a comment thread on Twitter the other day when I came across Bronia Jane’s blog. Now, ya’all criticise comment swaps (well, some people do – you specifically might not) as “fake interaction” but I may have never come across her blog had I not joined in and it’s quickly become one of my favourites. Not only is it super pretty but she posts fabulous content – right up my street as the type of blog I love reading with a bit of everything thrown in. I promise this isn’t a whole post of me gushing over (isn’t gushing an awful word?) her blog, I’m getting to my point, I just felt the need to grovel a little bit because I’m essentially pinching one of her post ideas. Although she said she didn’t mind so it’s all gravy, baby.

Continue reading “7 books to curl up with on a rainy day”

BOOK REVIEW: The Forgotten Room by Ann Troup @TroupAnn @HQDigitalUK #bookbloggers

Links: Goodreads  | Amazon UK
Publication date:
25th October 2017
Blurb:
Can the past ever be forgotten?

As soon as nurse Maura Lyle sets foot inside the foreboding Essen Grange, she feels shivers ripple down her spine. And the sense of unease only increases when she meets her new patient, Gordon Henderson.

Drawn into the Henderson family’s tangled web of secrets and betrayals, Maura can ignore the danger lurking behind every door no longer. Even the door she has been forbidden from opening…

Essen Grange is a house with dark and cruel intentions. But now that darkness has turned on her, can Maura escape before it’s too late?

The chilling new novel from the bestselling author of The Lost Child and The Silent Girls. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Claire Mackintosh and Tracy Buchanan.   Continue reading “BOOK REVIEW: The Forgotten Room by Ann Troup @TroupAnn @HQDigitalUK #bookbloggers”

If I had a book club…

Unfortunately, I can’t take credit for this wonderful idea for a post. Beth from The Reader’s Corner was the mastermind who came up with the idea and kindly let me steal it but please check out Beth’s post here! I’ve never been a member of a book club; online or otherwise. I’d love to be at some point in my life but I’m too backed up with my own books to even think about it right now. I also think it’d be amazing to have your own book club, where you have complete control over the books. So, if I had a book club, here are a handful of books I would choose.

Continue reading “If I had a book club…”