Jenems Jewellery: Autumn Range

I’m about to present to you the most overused and generic sentence in blogging history. When Jenems contacted me and asked if I wanted to work with them, I jumped at the chance. But this really was the case here because they weren’t just sending me any ol’ jewellery… oh no. I was going to receive some pieces from their brand new Autumn range and if you know me at all, you’ll know that I am down for all things Autumn. Basic Autumn bitch right here. 

Continue reading

Advertisements

Book review: Project Semicolon by Amy Bluel

*** Trigger warnings: Suicide, suicidal thoughts and mental illness ***

Format: Uncorrected proof
Publisher: Harper
Links:Amazon UK  | Goodreads


Review: This doesn’t really have a blurb so I’ll just explain myself what Project Semicolon is all about. Basically, Project Semicolon is a suicide awareness organisation, founded in 2013 by Amy Bluel and is dedicated to preventing suicide. The idea of the semicolon is that in a novel, when an author uses a semicolon, it signifies that the sentence isn’t over and using a semicolon in this instance is to signify that your own personal story isn’t over, especially if you’ve been affected by severe mental health, suicidal thought or suicide attempts. This book is a collection of short paragraphs and short essays from people all over the world with a whole spectrum of mental health conditions and stories where they share what they’ve been through, their darkest times and how they’ve come through the other side. Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW: The Forgotten Room by Ann Troup @TroupAnn @HQDigitalUK #bookbloggers

Links: Goodreads  | Amazon UK
Publication date:
25th October 2017
Blurb:
Can the past ever be forgotten?

As soon as nurse Maura Lyle sets foot inside the foreboding Essen Grange, she feels shivers ripple down her spine. And the sense of unease only increases when she meets her new patient, Gordon Henderson.

Drawn into the Henderson family’s tangled web of secrets and betrayals, Maura can ignore the danger lurking behind every door no longer. Even the door she has been forbidden from opening…

Essen Grange is a house with dark and cruel intentions. But now that darkness has turned on her, can Maura escape before it’s too late?

The chilling new novel from the bestselling author of The Lost Child and The Silent Girls. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Claire Mackintosh and Tracy Buchanan.   Continue reading

Book Review: Close To Me by Amanda Reynolds

Format: Paperback, proof copy
Link Goodreads | Amazon UK
Blurb: She can’t remember the last year. Her husband wants to keep it that way.

When Jo Harding falls down the stairs at home, she wakes up in hospital with partial amnesia-she’s lost a whole year of memories. A lot can happen in a year. Was Jo having an affair? Lying to her family? Starting a new life?

She can’t remember what she did-or what happened the night she fell. But she’s beginning to realise she might not be as good a wife and mother as she thought. Continue reading

Book review: The Doll House by Phoebe Morgan @Phoebe_A_Morgan @HQDigitalUK

Format: eBook, NetGalley
Links: Amazon UK | Goodreads
Blurb: You never know who’s watching…

Corinne’s life might look perfect on the outside, but after three failed IVF attempts it’s her last chance to have a baby. And when she finds a tiny part of a doll house outside her flat, it feels as if it’s a sign.

But as more pieces begin to turn up, Corinne realises that they are far too familiar. Someone knows about the miniature rocking horse and the little doll with its red velvet dress. Someone has been inside her house…

How does the stranger know so much about her life? How long have they been watching? And what are they waiting for…?


Continue reading

Book Review: A Season of Hopes and Dreams by Lynsey James @Lynsey1991 @HQDigitalUK @SarahManning123

Format: Advanced proof copy
Publication date: Today!
Links: Amazon UK | Goodreads
Blurb: It’s been a difficult year for Cleo Jones. The car accident that crushed her leg didn’t just destroy the village baker’s dreams of becoming a dancer, but crushed her confidence too. And recovering from that has been harder than healing from any number of broken bones…

But this summer is going to be different. Life is turning around for Cleo! Maybe it’s the invitation from h It’s been a difficult year for Cleo Jones. The car accident that crushed her leg didn’t just destroy the village baker’s dreams of becoming a dancer, but crushed her confidence too. And recovering from that has been harder than healing from any number of broken bones…

But this summer is going to be different. Life is turning around for Cleo! Maybe it’s the invitation from her childhood bully to their high-school reunion that’s shocked her out of a ten-year slump. Or joining Carb Counters and finally starting to shed the weight she’d piled on during her recovery – or maybe it’s catching the eye of her gorgeous personal trainer!

Whatever the answer, this is going to be a summer she never forgets… watch out world, Cleo Jones is finally fighting back!

Continue reading

Stepping out of my comfort zone with We Are Tea *

I am a very British person. And being a very British person, you can take an educated guess that I love tea. Honestly, is there anything better than spending the time to make yourself a perfect cup of tea – knowing that it’s for you and only you. Getting yourself some biscuits to dunk and settling into your favourite chair or your bed, putting on your favourite film or YouTuber and relishing in the fact that this is all for you. Tea is a marvellous thing and although that sounded a bit OTT, that’s genuinely how I feel sometimes when I make myself a cup of tea! 

Continue reading

Urtekram’s Nordic Berries Range *

Now you know that I’m not a beauty blogger. I may not be able to do make-up very well or know all the latest trends but… I do wash my hair. And I do use body lotion after a shower occasionally. So luckily today, I’m reviewing those very things! I was very kindly sent some products from Urtekram‘s new Nordic Berries range of products. All of which are packed full of vitamins and antioxidants from traditional Nordic berries like sea buckthorn, blueberries, cranberries and more. The brand are also organic cruelty free and vegan!

Continue reading

Book Review: Last Seen Alive by Claire Douglas

Format: Paperback, ARC
Links: Goodreads | Amazon UK
Blurb: She can run

Libby Hall needs to hide, to escape from everything for a while. Which is why the house swap is a godsend. The chance for Libby and her husband Jamie to exchange their tiny Bath flat for a beautiful haven on the wild Cornish coast.

But she can’t hide

But before they can begin to heal their fragile marriage, Libby makes some disturbing discoveries about the house. And soon the peace and isolation begin to feel threatening. How alone are they? Why does she feel watched?

Because someone knows her secret

What is Jamie hiding? Is Libby being paranoid? And why does the house bring back such terrible memories? Memories Libby’s worked hard to bury. Memories of the night she last saw her best friend alive… and what she did. Continue reading

Book Review: Tin Man by Sarah Winman

Format: Hardback, giveaway prize
Links: Amazon UK | Goodreads
Blurb: This is almost a love story.

Ellis and Michael are twelve when they first become friends, and for a long time it is just the two of them, cycling the streets of Oxford, teaching themselves how to swim, discovering poetry, and dodging the fists of overbearing fathers. And then one day this closest of friendships grows into something more.

But then we fast forward a decade or so, to find that Ellis is married to Annie, and Michael is nowhere in sight. Which leads to the question, what happened in the years between?

This is almost a love story. But it’s not as simple as that. Continue reading